Tutorial #1

Tutorial #1

Hello there 🙂
This is gonna be my first attempt at writing a tutorial, so if anything is
hard to understand during the steps, please leave a comment and I’ll do my best to make myself clearer ♥ Also this tutorial is made by memory, so the result might vary a little.

The raw photo was taken at medium quality, on a plain white background, with my windlight set to “Juicy Loves You” which gives it a faint pink teint. Whether this is actually important to how the final picture turned out, I’m not sure, but I figured I’d mention it nontheless and have you go download Juicy’s amazing windlights.

Step one: Curves
* Some find it easier to make a new adjustment layer, but what I tend to do (bad habit?) is to make a copy of my background (Crtl+j), then go to Image/Adjustments/Curves.
Staying in the RGB channel, I added some light and some contrast.

Light
Output: 255
Input: 245

Contrast
Output: 1
Input: 27

Step two: Pink (or whatever you choose)
* Make a new layer. Choose a big soft brush and a light colour. For this picture I used somewhere around #fec8d5 which is a pastel pink. With the brush opacity on 30%, gently dap on the white background. Don’t worry too much if you’re painting over part of the hair.

Step tree: Gradient
* Go to Layer/New Adjustment Layer and make yourself a gradient map. For this picture, I used the default red to green map that’s in my Photoshop. If you don’t have that, make one that goes from #e10019 to #00601b
and set that layer to Screen.
Now make sure you click on the white box next to your gradient map in your layer. That’s your layer mask.
If you’ve clicked it, it should turn your for- and background colour to black and white.
With a soft brush (set to about 30%), erase the gradient from eyes, brows and lips. With the opacity down, you have more control over how much you wish to delete.

Step four: Blur
*Make a new layer and merge your layers together by pressing the CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+E together.
Now go to Filter/Blur/Motion Blur.
My settings are on -10 on Angle and 39 pixels on Distance.
This is where I’d usually make a layer mask, but the eraser tool works just the same for this job.
With a big soft brush (keep that opacity down), erase the parts you don’t want too blurred.

Step five: Blend in
For final touches, I grabbed the colour picker tool and selected the background colour.
On a new layer, once more with the big soft brush, I added some colour on the edge of the hair to the right, to blend it better with the background.

And there you have it. I hope things made sense.
For credits, please check out THIS post ♥

Also, if you used my tutorial to edit any of your pictures, I’d LOVE to see the result. Leave a comment here, or tag me on Flickr ♥

xoxo
Mira

Leave a Reply

